Connect with us

Lebanese Premier League

Sagesse returns to the Premier League

Photo: Adnan Hajj Ali

After 5 years of absence, Sagesse is back to the Premier League.

The team was first formed as a university football team that their graduates would go on to play for Salam Achrafieh. In 1942, the official senior team of Sagesse SC was created as “Cercle de la Sagesse” by Father Boulos Kik. Many ex-students of the college came back to be the center of this project including Edward Tyan, Camille Cordahi, Elie Khalife and Najib Hobeika.

Under Mr Toutoungi, the club’s first president, Sagesse won the second division in the 1943-44 season and went on to win the promotion play-off 4-0 against Chabibet El Mazraa, but due to a technicality, they remained in the second division.

In the 3-points era (started in 1994-95), Sagesse has played 14 seasons in the Premier League in a total of 324 games. They won 87 games and lost 131. In these seasons, the club finished in the top 6 4 times, including a top 2 finish in 2001-02 season. The club also reached the FA Cup final in 2006 and the Lebanese Federation Cup final in 2004.

This season, Sagesse won 9 games and lost 2 in 16 games, scoring 24 goals and conceeding 10. Their biggest win is 5-1 against Ansar Houwara and biggest loss is 2-3 against Nahda.

Premier League Top Scorers


More in Lebanese Premier League